CM Archive
CM Archive Book Review line

Dennis Adair and Janet Rosenstock.

New York, Avon Books, c1983.
Distributed by Avon Books of Canada.
263pp, paper, $3.95.
ISBN 0-380-85134-2.

Reviewed by Patricia Thorn.

Volume 12 Number 2
1984 March

Victoria, the fifth and concluding volume of Dennis Adair and Janet Rosen-' stock's series The Story of Canada, delivers all one has come to expect from this series (and from Robert Wall's The Canadians): lots of action, travel, adventure, passion, and violence set against an accurate, but not too obtrusive historical background.

This volume takes place in the years 1855 to 1857 and is set primarily in the Pacific Northwest. Victoria, under James Douglas, is the focal point of the story, although much of the action does not take place there.

The intertwining paths of four people are traced in Victoria until they all finally meet in the conclusion. One of these stories involves Margot MacLeod, great-great-granddaughter of Janet Cameron MacLeod of Kanata (Book 1 of The Story of Canada). The plot moves quickly enough to gloss over any improbabilities that might occur. The characters are attractive, if not very deep, and the hardships of life at the time are certainly not dwelled upon.

Victoria is recommended to libraries where earlier volumes of the series are popular. It could also be read without any prior acquaintance with the series, and, therefore, could be bought by any library needing more popular, Canadian historical fiction.

Patricia Thorn, Adam Scott C. V. I., Peterborough, ON.
line indexes


1971-1979 | 1980-1985 | 1986-1990 | 1991-1995


The materials in this archive are copyright © The Manitoba Library Association. Reproduction for personal use is permitted only if this copyright notice is maintained. Any other reproduction is prohibited without permission Copyright information for reviewers

Young Canada Works